The Rathmell house was built in 1896 by Milton Moore, mining partner of George Wright, who lived next door to the north. Moore and the Wright brothers owned the Grizzle Bear Group of mines. The house sold to George Wright after the Moores lived in it for five years. The Wrights sold the home to William and Minnie Rathmell. After that the house sold to a relative of the Rathmell family, John and Patricia Ford, who bought the house on June 6, 1967. Pat Ford was the granddaughter of Ruth Rathmell. The house is full of history, being owned by a famous family for over 100 years. The Judge was a friend of Chief Ouray and his wife Chipeta. You will be the fourth known owner, third to live in it, since 1896. An addition of a 1,064 square foot heated garage and family room was added sometime around the 1980-90s. At that time, it appears they insulated the entire home. The house has been restored to a magnificent look back in time but modernized. The original house is now used as it was in the 1800s. We took information from the great granddaughter to use the rooms as the Judge used them. The office/library are the same room as the Judge's. The parlor, dining, kitchen and bath is the same location. Privacy, fruit trees, and stunning Amphitheater alpenglow views complete this Ouray treasure. Schedule a tour of this Ouray gem today.